Clearing the database encryption password

In FileMaker Pro, you can use the Database Encryption feature to encrypt the contents of a database file.

With FileMaker Server, the server administrator enters the encryption password when the file is opened for hosting. The server administrator can select Save Password to save the encryption password so that the database can be automatically opened if the Automatically open databases that are in the database folders setting is enabled. To prevent FileMaker Server from automatically opening encrypted databases, you can clear the database encryption password.

Clearing the database encryption password doesn’t alter the database’s encryption settings; it removes the saved password from the FileMaker Server encrypted cache. As a result, the server administrator must specify the database encryption password in order to open the file for hosting.

Note  For information about encrypting a database, see FileMaker Pro Help.

To clear the database encryption password for a single database:

  1. Click the Databases page.
  2. Select a database.
  3. Click and choose Clear Encryption Password.

To clear the database encryption password for all databases:

  1. Click the Databases page.
  2. For All Databases, click and choose Clear All Encryption Passwords.