Changing the priority of account access

When a user opens a file, FileMaker clients use the first account access entry in the priority (authentication) order that either matches the user’s account name or that finds the user’s account name in the group. All account access entries that follow the first one are ignored. Therefore, it’s important to set the priority for account access when one or more of the situations below exist. Otherwise, the wrong account access may be used to open the file. See Creating and editing account access.

A file could contain more than one account access entry that authenticates the same user when:

  • there is Claris ID or external identity provider (IdP) account access for an individual user, and for one or more groups that the same user is in
  • there is FileMaker file account access for an individual user, and external server account access for a group that contains a user with the same account name (this doesn't apply to AD FS groups)
  • two or more groups with external server account access contain the same user (this doesn't apply to AD FS groups)
  • there is Microsoft Azure AD account access for an individual user, and for one or more groups that the same user is in
  • two or more groups with Microsoft Azure AD account access contain the same user
  • two or more groups with AD FS account access contain the same user

The priority is an issue only under the specific circumstances above. If you are using account types for individual users, priority is not a concern, because each account access entry must have a unique name.

To change the priority of account access:

  1. Choose File menu > Manage > Security.
  2. Drag each account access name into the order you want it to be authenticated.

Notes 

  • You must have full access privileges to change priority.