Setting advanced file recovery options

FileMaker Pro uses certain default settings when it recovers a file. You can change these settings when you attempt to recover a damaged file.

To set advanced file recovery options:

  1. Choose File menu > Recover.
  2. Select the file to recover, and click Select.
  3. In the "Name new recovered file" dialog box, select Use advanced options.

    FileMaker Pro displays the Advanced Recovery Options dialog box, with either the default recovery options selected (if this is the first time the dialog box is displayed during the current application launch) or with the most recent settings made during the current application launch.

  4. Select one option for how you want FileMaker Pro to generate the new file.
  5. Select

    To

    Default

    Copy file blocks as-is

    Copy all file blocks as they are to the recovered file, which may include damaged blocks.

    Off

    Copy logical structure (same as Compacted Copy)

    Copy all the original data without checking the blocks and rebuild the tree structure in the recovered file.

    Off

    Scan blocks and rebuild file (drop invalid blocks)

    Include only undamaged and non-duplicate blocks in the recovered file.

    On

    After the new file is generated, it is scanned and then a new database is rebuilt according to the options you select in the next step.

  6. Select one or more additional options to define how to scan and rebuild the new database after the new file has been generated.
  7. Select

    To

    Default

    Scan record data and rebuild fields and tables

    Rebuild the file’s schema. This option forces all records and field data to be scanned.

    Note  Scanning all the records and field data may take a long time, but it’s the only option that re-creates missing field or table definitions. If any fields or records are at invalid locations in the file, only this option will find and remove them.

    On

    Scan and rebuild scripts, layouts, etc.

    Rebuild the file’s structure.

    If the locale of themes stored in a file matches the installed themes on disk, FileMaker Pro will update the same version or any newer version of themes stored in a file. Predefined themes and custom themes based on predefined themes are also updated.

    On

    Rebuild field indexes, and then select Now or Later

    Rebuild field indexes during file recovery, or later as indexes are needed.

    On, Now

    Delete cached settings

    Remove the most recently used settings including page format, print settings, layout formatting defaults; and for every table in a file, the import and export order, recent sorts, recent finds, the last found set, and send mail options. (However, any saved finds are recovered.)

    On

    Bypass startup script and layout

    Bypass any scripts or layouts that are normally used when the file is opened. (Any scripts created in File Options with the OnFirstWindowOpen or OnWindowOpen script triggers are disabled and FileMaker Pro creates a blank layout into which the file opens.) This option prompts you near the end of the recovery process to enter an account and password with full access to the database.

    Off

To use these settings the next time you recover a file during the same application launch, keep Use advanced options selected in the "Name new recovered file" dialog box. To change these settings, keep Use advanced options selected in the "Name new recovered file" dialog box, and click Specify.

To revert to the FileMaker Pro default recovery settings, deselect Use advanced options.

Notes 

  • When Bypass startup script and layout is selected, the bypass will not be allowed if any one of these conditions exist:
    • a user fails three attempts to log in
    • the accounts catalog is damaged
    • the Admin account is missing
  • If you change file recovery settings and then switch to using a script that bypasses dialog boxes, FileMaker Pro uses its default file recovery options (instead of those you set). If you return to recovering files using dialog boxes, however, the changed settings are restored.
  • Whenever you only want to bypass the layout to open the file, select Copy file blocks as-is and Bypass startup script and layout, and leave other options deselected.