Views and hubs

What's a view?

A view is a way to present and work with your data in Claris Studio. Team managers can create these types of views:

  • Spreadsheet: This view lets you work with data in familiar rows and columns. Sort, filter, group, chart, and summarize your data as well as import and download data as CSV files.

  • Form: This multi-page web form lets you easily collect data, such as registration for events, opinion surveys, customer feedback, and more.

  • List-detail: To help you dig into your data, this view organizes your records into a list, where you can select a record to review or modify.

  • Kanban: For task management, graphically track the progress of your work for any project. Create a new kanban view or make one from an existing spreadsheet or form view.

  • Dashboard: With visually compelling charts and summaries, this view presents at-a-glance insights about your data to help your team make decisions.

Team managers can create views either starting with no data or based on data in an existing view.

Team members can edit data and add or delete fields and records, but they can't modify the way most types of views look.

What's a hub?

A hub is a collection of views that a team manager can share with selected team members. Think of a hub as a central location for data shared with your team. And if you want to reuse a view in multiple hubs, you don't have to recreate the view—just add the same view to each hub.

What can team managers do with hubs?

Team managers can create as many hubs as needed, name them, and add views to them. You can then add the team members who need to work with those views, but you don't need to add team managers, because they can see all hubs. For example, you might create a hub named Product Survey for team members working on a survey. The hub can include the form sent to participants, a spreadsheet to see the submitted form data in detail, and a dashboard to graphically present the survey results as they come in. And if you want to share only the dashboard with the rest of the team, you can create a separate hub for them and add the same dashboard view to it.

Team managers can add or remove views in hubs as needed. When you make changes to a hub, team members in that hub will see those changes the next time they look in the hub.

Hubs control how views are shared with team members, but they don't control how views are shared publicly. To share a view with anyone who has the link, a team manager can separately enable public sharing for that view.

What can team members do with hubs? 

When team members sign in to Claris Studio, they see all the views in the hubs that have been shared with them. Clicking a view opens it and let's team members view and work with the data.