Managing security > Creating and editing extended privileges
 

Creating and editing extended privileges

Extended privileges determine the data sharing options that are permitted by a privilege set for a file. For example, if the file is shared, the Access via FileMaker Network extended privilege determines if the privilege set allows opening the shared file as a client. The Access via FileMaker WebDirect extended privilege determines whether the privilege set allows accessing the file from a web browser. See About accounts, privilege sets, and extended privileges.

To create and manage extended privileges for a file, you must open the file with account access that is assigned a privilege set that has the Manage extended privileges privilege. If you open the file without this privilege set, the File menu > Manage > Security command is disabled. See Editing other privileges.

You can view extended privileges in the Advanced Security Settings dialog box, as well as enable each extended privilege for the privilege sets that you want to permit access. All extended privileges except fmreauthenticate10 are disabled by default, even in the Full Access privilege set.

To create or edit an extended privilege:

1. Choose File menu > Manage > Security.

If the Extended Privileges tab in the Advanced Security Settings dialog box appears, skip to step 3.

2. Click Advanced Security Settings, then the Extended Privileges tab.

3. Click New, or select a keyword, then click Edit.

4. In the Edit Extended Privilege dialog box, enter or change the appropriate keyword and description for the extended privilege.

5. In the Access area, select or clear the checkbox for each privilege set that you want to enable or disable for the new privilege set.

Notes 

Enabling extended privileges only makes it allowable for certain privilege sets to access shared data. To actually access the shared data, you must also set up sharing for the type of access that you want. See Sharing files on a network, Using ODBC and JDBC with FileMaker Pro, or Publishing databases on the web.

With the fmreauthenticateX extended privilege, you can specify the amount of time required before a user needs to sign in again. In the Keyword area in the Edit Extended Privilege dialog box, you can:

accept the default time, which is fmreauthenticate10 (10 minutes)

change the default time (up to a maximum of 10080 minutes) by editing the number at the end of fmreauthenticateX

create a new fmreauthenticate10 extended privilege and specify a different time

Related topics 

Editing extended privileges for a privilege set