Using advanced tools > Using the Developer Utilities
 

Using the Developer Utilities

Note  This topic describes features that are available when the Use advanced tools general preference is selected. See Using advanced tools.

FileMaker Pro provides Developer Utilities that let you:

encrypt your database files to protect them from unauthorized access while they are being stored on disk

rename a set of database files and automatically update the internal links to related files and scripts

display your database files in Kiosk mode

remove administrative access from all accounts and prevent users from modifying most design or structural elements of your databases

add the FileMaker Pro 12 filename extension (.fmp12) to a set of files

create an error log for processing errors

Note  FileMaker Pro allows you to include as many database tables as you need in a database file. This capability eliminates one of the main reasons for using multiple files. However, other elements, like scripts and access privileges, are stored at the file level and so some complex custom apps will still benefit from using multiple files.

To set up files to use in the Developer Utilities:

1. Close all of your database files that you are going to customize.

2. Choose Tools menu > Developer Utilities.

3. If you have used the Developer Utilities on the same custom app before and saved your settings, click Load Settings.

The Select a file dialog box opens so that you can browse to find your settings file.

4. Click Add to locate the files that you want to customize.

5. When you have added all the files that you want to customize, do one or more of the following:

 

To

Do this

Rename a file

Select the file in the list, type the new name in the Rename file box, and click Change. This also updates any internal links to related files and scripts.

Note  Do not type a filename extension.

Remove a file

Select the file in the list and click Remove.

6. For Project Folder, click Specify to choose a location for the solution.

7. In the Choose a Folder dialog box, select or create a folder and click OK (Windows) or Choose (macOS).

8. If you do not want the new files to overwrite earlier versions of the files, clear the Overwrite matching files within the Project Folder checkbox.

Important  If Overwrite matching files within the Project Folder is selected, the Developer Utilities will overwrite files with the same names as those in the list of files.

9. For Solution Options, click Specify, and select options. See Specifying options for the Developer Utilities.

10. To be able to quickly repeat the process, click Save Settings, and choose a folder and location for your settings file. See Saving settings for the Developer Utilities.

11. Click Create.

The Developer Utilities copy all the selected database files, with the modifications made by the Utilities, to the Project Folder. If the default option to overwrite the destination files has been left on, the specified Project Folder will be used to store the files copied by the Developer Utilities. If the default option to overwrite the files has been cleared, the specified Project Folder will be used if it is empty or a new one based on the name of the Project Folder will be created.

Related topics 

Displaying databases in Kiosk mode