Adding and viewing data > Entering data in records > Committing data in records
 

Committing data in records

FileMaker Pro saves your data as you work. This is called committing data. Data is committed when you:

click outside of all fields in a record

press Enter (see notes, below)

Windows: Press Enter on the numeric keypad, or Ctrl+Enter on computers without a numeric keypad

macOS: Press Enter (not Return), or Fn-Return on computers without a numeric keypad

switch to another mode

select another record

switch to another layout

Notes 

Data is usually committed when you press Enter. If pressing Enter does not commit data, see your custom app developer.

If you enter data incorrectly in a record, you can restore the original data to the record as long as the information is not committed. See Restoring data in records.

You can prompt users to save changes before they commit a record. See Setting the automatic record-saving option for a layout.

When you change related data (such as related records displayed in a portal), these changes are not committed until you commit the record that is displaying the related data.

The Replace Field Contents and Relookup Field Contents commands and script steps do not commit the active record. If there are uncommitted records in the window that are affected by the replace or lookup operation, these changes will remain uncommitted until you commit the active record. An example of when this happens is a replace or relookup on related records in a portal.

Related topics 

Saving and copying files

Saving and reverting layout changes