Creating and managing layouts and reports > Editing layouts > Setting the automatic record-saving option for a layout
 

Setting the automatic record-saving option for a layout

When you make data entry changes to a record, normally the changes are saved automatically when you exit the record and display another record. If you prefer, you can set FileMaker Pro to display a "Save changes to this record?" confirmation dialog box when exiting a record in which data has been changed.

You can set the usage of this confirmation dialog box on a layout-by-layout basis.

To set the automatic record-saving option for a layout:

1. In Layout mode, choose the layout you want to work with from the Layout pop-up menu.

2. Click Layout Setup Layout Setup button in the layout bar.

3. In the Layout Setup dialog box, do one of the following:

To save record changes automatically, select Save record changes automatically.

To display a confirmation dialog box when exiting a record in which data has been changed, clear Save record changes automatically.

Related topics 

Adding and viewing data

Exporting the contents of a field